Writer’s Block: Open Arms

When I met the members of the band Atari Teenage Riot back in 1997 at the 9:30 Club in D.C., they unexpectedly gave me hugs and kisses on the cheeks. But I’m definitely not complaining. Carl Crack even kissed me on the lips.
My then-boyfriend and I, along with our friends, waited outside after the show. The band walked out. I went up to talk to them and was going to shake their hands, but they were all *hugs* instead of shaking my hand, which was cool. I was only 16 years old and I was obsessed with that band at the time, so I was like YAYYYYY. Hanin Elias was like "We’re Germans. We hug and kiss you on the cheek, that’s what we do!" It was so cute. And then when I met Carl Crack, he hugged me, kissed me on the cheeks. Then paused and grabbed my face and kissed my mouth. My then-boyfriend wasn’t mad about it at all. He was like "It’s okay, he’s allowed." Again, I was only 16 so I was like OMFG! These hugs weren’t totally spontaneous, but they still made my month. Then Carl came out of their van and brought me cantelopes and other fruits and was like "Here’s a present for you!" He was so nice. The sad thing is that Carl Crack died in 2001.

Another hug out of nowhere was when I was at Angel’s Rockbar. A girl came up from behind me and gave me a hug and was like "Rebecca?! How have you been?" (Don’t remember the name. I’m just using Rebecca). I was like "I’m sorry, I’m not Rebecca". She was like "Don’t you remember me? We used to ride horses together. It’s been years since I’ve seen you." I said "That’s definitely not me, but it’s okay – these things happen." She hugged me again and gave me a kiss on the cheek and she’s like "That’s okay that you don’t remember me. But it’s really good to see you. I’ve missed you". The girl did not seem the least bit drunk.

Then there was the time that I was at an art viewing. A lady came up to me with a huge smile and gave me a hug. She was like "I finally found you". She said I must be of a certain Native American tribe (I forget the tribe’s name). I told her that my grandmother was half Native American but that she was from another tribe. I told her that I was half Asian-American and so maybe that’s why she thought that. But she insisted that I was a textbook example of the traits and features that they had and that there are hardly any of that tribe in Maryland. She told me her job is researching this particular tribe.

Leave a Reply

