Writer’s Block: Food Loves and Hates

Foods I cannot live without:

  • Tomatoes because is it good but also used in other foods I like.
  • Cherries, strawberries, blueberries, honey dew melons. Basically fruit.
  • V8 juice.
  • Pizza.
  • Bread/Bagels.
  • Rice.
  • Crab: Crab cakes, crab pretzels, crab dip, crab pizza, and just crabs. Even imitation crab, haha.
  • Cream cheese.
  • Chocolate soy milk.
  • Veggie, soy, and turkey versions of foods like veggie/turkey burgers, turkey dogs, soy milk. Yum.
  • Sushi.
  • Salmon.
  • Spinach.
  • Olives.
  • Yogurt, yogurt cheese. I need my probiotics.
  • Chocolate.
  • Koreandessert-Tteok-Jeolpyeon-Ya-1.jpg picture by cherryteresaTteok – korean rice cakes. Real rice cakes, not the cardboard-like stuff that Americans picture when they think of rice cakes.
  • Grits with butter and salt.
  • Miso soup.
  • Pajeon (“korean pancakes”, “korean pizza), especially haemu pajeon, (해물파전) which is seafood pajeon. The kind with squid is my favorite. Great with soy sauce. Yum!
 

Foods I cannot stomach:

  • Beef and pork. I have not eaten either since 2006. I would literally get sick if I ate these again.
  • Mayonnaise “salads” that are not meat-based. For example, potato salad and coleslaw. When my parents tried to make me eat these, I would literally gag. I couldn’t even swallow these. It’s like my body was saying “no”. But tuna salad, chicken salad, etc. are great. 
  • Onions, except for baked onion rings or maybe in some soups or in salsa. I know onions are good for you, but I don’t like them. Even when I take the onions off, I can still taste them and it just ruins the food for me.
  • Green peppers. Most peppers just taste like ear wax to me (don’t ask, haha). Another food that I probably should eat for its health benefits, but don’t like. 
  • Most fried foods. I used to be able to eat a lot of these but now it makes my stomach feel bad. I basically limit myself to fried rice and fried fish sandwiches. But it depends on the restaurant because sometimes I can’t even have the fish sandwich from certain places. I get my crab cakes baked now and I actually like it better and it’s also healthier. When I make french fries, mozzarella sticks, fish sticks, etc. I bake them.
  • Root beer. Tastes like toothpaste mixed with soda.
  • Coors Light beer. I’d rather be sober than drink this. I can drink Natty Boh and Pabst Blue Ribbon, but no Coors Light.
  • Rum. I can have a little, but I usually just stay away from it altogether. I won’t even have had enough to be drunk, but I will hurl and have a bad stomach ache.
  • Advertisements

4 Comments to “Writer’s Block: Food Loves and Hates”

  1. I’ve had Pajeon before. I think it was the seafood kind, too. Pretty tasty. I went to a Korean restaurant a couple of months ago, it was all good, but I can’t tell you want I ate, lol. I’ve only been once.
    I like Indian food myself. Saag paneer is my favorite! one.

  2. i agree with you about the onions. i forgot to list that, but that’s a definite dealbreaker for me too.

  3. yeah, man. when i used to go to taco bell, i would almost always order bean burritos with no onions. lots of times they forgot and put the onions in anyway and that pissed me off to the nth degree. ruins it! yuck! and the consistency wasn’t smooth anymore.

Leave a Reply

