Dreams

One thing not a lot of people know about me is my experience with dreams. I’m not Allison Dubois or anything. I’m not a psychic nor am I a medium. But I have had lots of dreams that have actually happened in real life at a later time. And when I say they happened, I mean they occurred in the same way they did in the dream. They had the same scenes, situations, people, words spoken, etc. I can’t control this – there’s no turning this off or on. I can’t say to myself “I wonder what will happen next week” and make myself dream the outcome. Sometimes I will go years without having these dreams and other times I have several of these dreams a night for months in a row, and anywhere in between those two scenarios. It just happens.

This goes beyond the feeling that something you’re experiencing might have happened before. This is the knowing that you dreamt this exact thing. I even used to keep a dream log just to make sure I wasn’t going crazy or that I wasn’t convincing myself that I dreamt things after an event occurred. No, I had these recorded so I knew they actually happened before the event. And I had a close friend in elementary school who I shared these dreams with and she would even say “That’s just like that dream you had a few months ago!”

Not all of my dreams are “predictions”. I dream normal, random dreams that don’t make sense and probably don’t have any real meaning. But when I dream the ones that do mean something, I usually get a certain feeling. I know. It feels different. I can’t explain it in words, but I usually know. Sometimes it may not be clear to me at that moment what it means or why it will happen, but I often know that it’s something that’s going to happen in real life. I might be in a building I’ve never walked in yet with a person I have yet to meet, so I might not understand at that time what is happening. But I get the feeling that it’s something that I should remember because it will happen.

My mother has this even more than I do. And she has actually predicted things that were otherwise totally unpredictable and even helped other people avoid dangerous situations that would have definitely happened had she not interfered. She has the literal dreams like I do (the what you see is what you get dreams). But she also has the symbolic ones. She’s good at knowing what a dream means, even if it would be unclear to someone else who is being told what she dreamed. I guess her years of experience makes her aware. She can decipher between the two types. And these symbolic dreams are specific. They are not like seeing a pot of gold and thinking you might have good luck sometime in the next year. Duh. Most people will have some type of good luck, whether big or small, within a year’s time. These dreams are much more specific.

I probably have the symbolic dreams as well but am not yet sure how to figure these out or how to tell these apart from the literal ones. At least that’s what I am hoping…

I’ve been getting the dreams again lately and I know they mean something. The other night, I had one that scared the crap out of me. My senses were involved in this dream, including my emotions. I had emotions I don’t think I’ve even felt in real life yet. I awoke in the middle of the night feeling as if it happened and I was nervous. I felt weird. I knew the dream meant something and it was freaking me out. This is how I felt as soon as I awoke, without even having a chance to analyze what had happened. My body reacted automatically. I thought to myself that the scenario was pretty unlikely to happen. But I couldn’t shake the fact that it was one of those dreams and that those dreams outweigh any type of logic or reasoning.
But after a good night’s sleep the next night, I realized that it most likely does mean something, but not literally. You see, some dreams, if taken literally could mean something bad. But taken metaphorically, could mean something great. For example, my mother told me a dream about how she went down to the living room and there were pipes bursting and water flooding our house. She knew it was a “prediction” dream. I thought “that’s horrible”. But she said it actually meant that a specific good thing was about to happen because of the abundance of water. (I know this is the point where many of you are calling my family crazy. So be it). She told me about a few situations where she had dreams involving lots of water and what ended up happening immediately afterwards. So she just knew.

So basically, if my dream was meant to be taken literally (which I doubt), then I am in deep doo doo. But if meant to be taken metaphorically, means that very good things are about to come in my life. 🙂 I think I have a feeling what they are and I hope I’m right. I feel happy about the future.

I have gone from being concerned to being optimistic and excited about things to come.

Tags:

4 Comments to “Dreams”

  1. my family is nutters too. when i was little everyone would ask me for number to play the lottery. they won alot, but i have never. odd.

  2. That’s no fair that you haven’t had a chance to take advantage of your own superior wisdom! You should be rich! Shooot, I should ask you for some numbers. Hehe.

  3. Perhaps…
    Koreans, Mongolians and the Native Americans all share one thing in common. The shamanism practice by all three of us are exactly the same. A lot of what you’re talking about are signs that you and your mom are unknowingly shamans (a lot of females are shamans in Korea, don’t believe the BS that Korea is such a patriarchal society, it’s less so than the US). Every interviews and news bits I’ve seen on Shamanism in Korea, they’re all talking about dreams like the you’re describing, how they come true and some of them even had physical ailments (chronic headaches, etc etc etc) until they pursued the calling from the spirits/the energy/the chi whatever you want to call it.
    Perhaps it’s no accident/coincidence that you are a musician and you feel the timing is right to put down on paper your visions this summer break.
    Hope the Korean perspective I’m giving you is of help.

  4. Check ur Facebook email
    Hey girl, check your Facebook email holler back at me, couple of things I said there I didn’t want to say publicly.

Leave a Reply

