MYOB?

Usually it’s clear to me when I should mind my own business or the rare instances when I should get involved.

But this is something I’m unsure about. I don’t know why I care as much as I do. I don’t know you all that well. But if it was me, I’d want to know.

I think you are about to make a major mistake.

If you knew a piece of information, you would be thinking differently. At least if I found that out, I would change my plans. Big time. But I don’t know you well enough to figure out if you’d want to know. Maybe you already know but just don’t care for whatever reason. Or maybe you wouldn’t be okay with it, but you’d just rather not know about it. Some people feel that “ignorance is bliss” and maybe you’re one of them. So there is the possibility that if I did tell you, it would be doing more harm than good.

And I’m not the only one who knows. But no one is saying anything, even the people who do know you a lot better. So I’m just going to assume that means they’ve decided you wouldn’t want to know. I hope, for your sake, that my assumption is correct.

9 Comments to “MYOB?”

  1. Whaaaaa? I don’t know why but this post scared the crap out of me.

  2. P.S. – What if those other people are keeping silent not because they think it’s best, but because they’re unsure as well?

  3. It sounds like someone is being cheated on…

  4. wow…yeah, your post scares me too.
    i would hope that if someone knew something about me that would “HURT” me, they would tell me.
    what i can live without are people telling me that so and so said this, or that person gave me a dirty look. that is childish crap i could care less about.
    good luck with your decision process though. sounds like a big one.
    OH, and have not seen you in FOREVER, hope all is well.

  5. I apologize! I didn’t mean to scare anyone. I should have mentioned this post wasn’t about anyone on my friends list.
    SORRY!

  6. S’ok! My anxiety level is pretty high today anyway, so it was just my own weird paranoia. I hope everything turns out well for your friend. I don’t know the situation and I don’t believe in clear-cut right and wrong decisions for everybody… so I wouldn’t feel good giving you advice, but maybe possibly you could figure out what your friend would want, without directly telling him or her what is going on.
    I do think that some people would prefer not to know bad news, and be ignorant. I’m not one of those people, but I know that you have to respect other people’s wishes for their own lives.

  7. Sorry! I didn’t mean to scare anyone. This isn’t about anyone on my friends list and I doubt this person even knows I have a blog. I was just letting out my feelings.
    But yeah, I know what you mean. It’s not just gossip dumb crap. (I can do without that stuff too and I try not to get involved in drama unless it’s absolutely necessary. I like watching soaps but I don’t want my life to actually be one). It’s something important but it borders on that fine line. And the person may take it as being unnecessary or they may be extremely grateful. I don’t know.
    It sucks. People will be screwed no matter what decision I decide to take – keeping quiet or getting involved.
    Thanks for the support.
    And yeah, girl. It’s been a minute since we’ve bumped into each other. I need to give your store a visit. And I need to come to a RTE show soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. That’s a very good point. And another reason why I am confused. Because they could just be saying that to make themselves not feel bad about not getting involved.
    I think people might be thinking “Meh, someone else will do it”.
    What’s funny is that when something stupid and petty happens, news travels fast and it gets back to that person. Yet this thing is important (or I think it is anyway) and yet it hasn’t gotten back to the person.

  9. State your peace…
    Rough paraphrasing, Jesus once said, “State your peace and if they accept, they accept, if they don’t, then dust the dirt off your sandals.” Something to that extent. In other words you gave the warning/message, etc and it’s up to them what they wish to do with it and you have the peace of knowing that you did what you had to do.

Leave a Reply

