Potomac Primaries

I’m calling it the Potomac Primaries instead of the Chesapeake Primaries because the former sounds cooler, haha. Unfortunately, I cannot vote in the primaries because I’m registered as an independent and in Maryland, you are excluded from the primaries if you are not affiliated. There are sometimes exceptions, such as in 2000 when the Republican Party allowed independents to vote in theirs.

If I was registered as a Republican, I would vote for Ron Paul. I am aware that he isn’t going to win but that is who I would vote for.
If I was registered as a Democrat, I would vote for Barack Obama. The media outlets I’ve been listening to have been saying that Obama is going to win this area, but they were wrong about the primaries in a lot of the other states, so I am not going to totally count on that.

And now, for some unscientific data about me:

You Are 60% Democrat

You aren’t a full fledged Democrat yet, but it’s likely the party that fits you best.
You probably consider yourself an independent Democrat. You usually support the party, but you also think for yourself!
<!–
–>I am:
33%
Republican.
<!–
–>

<!–
–>”You’re probably one of those chicken-littles who thinks maybe we should worry a little bit, occasionally, about the fate of the planet that our lives all depend on.”<!–
–>

Are You A Republican?

One Comment to “Potomac Primaries”

  1. Good idea and thanks for the info. But unfortunately in MD, no such luck. They do let you register for a party today at the polls, but you still can’t vote in the primaries. It had to be done by November 19th. I knew that when I registered, but I didn’t think that “the race” would be so close. Plus, I just don’t fully like any party, and that outweighed being able to vote in the primaries back then. On a local level here in MD, I can’t stand a lot of the democrats. Governor O’Malley can bite me. But usually on a national level, I tend to vote liberal.
    I wish it was the way it is in Ohio! Good for you for doing what YOU think is best, regardless of party! 🙂

Leave a Reply

