Considering database certification

I finished my fall semester last week. I was going to take a class over the winter but I think I need some time to figure some stuff out. I want to change my major to something more computer related. I’m a little bit of a geek. I’m not a computer software expert by any means but I like learning about them. And I took a couple classes on graphic design and webpages back when I first when to college. I taught myself a lot of stuff as well such as more html beyond what I learned in school and some CSS. And that takes patience. At first when I learned html in school, I thought I would never want to do it after the class was over because of how tedious it was. But after a while, I got used to it and wanted to learn more and didn’t find it painful to do.

So I’m thinking that if I learn stuff on my own as a hobby anyway, maybe I should learn other computer related things. I need to challenge myself. Oh yeah, and then why not do it as a career and make money from it?

I’m thinking about getting a degree in something in the Information Technology program. I think I want to do database. But I’m not 100% sure. So I’ve been taking a lot of my free time into learning as much as I can now about database to make sure this is something I want to do. I think it is. But I just need to get over the tedious/this sucks part of it to have fun with it – the same way when I was first learning how to make a basic webpage. And I get all paranoid when I’m about to make a decision so I always have to over-investigate it to convince myself I’m doing the right thing – even when it’s something as stupid as just buying a $50 cell phone.

I thought that when the semester was over I’d have all this time to do whatever I wanted and spend more time on music but now I feel like I have even less time. Because I want to make sure I’m doing the right thing and figure it out soon so I can sign up for Spring classes.

And yes, I am aware of the fact that if I do database for a corporation, this means I’m probably not going to do it on the mac operating system. It’s not the end of the world, people. I can handle it. Plus, a lot of the government positions use Linux anyway. ๐Ÿ˜› I can still use my mac at home and I do have XP installed on it as well as Leopard so yes, I can also learn those programs at home as well as in school. I use Windoze at my job now anyway. Every office job I’ve had was on a PC except one (which was working tech support for Apple, haha). So I’m not going to fall in a hole by learning this. Some people have been acting like I couldn’t handle that and that it’d be like working for a company that only speaks French or something. People are so overdramatic sometimes!

Tags: ,

2 Comments to “Considering database certification”

  1. databases can be run on the mac platform – there is a version of SQL that runs, and php as well. Databases is a good thing to get into.
    Your key words are interoperability, scalability, and normalization of the data. Stay away from Access and Filemaker. My words of advice to you (though you didn’t ask for them) tee. Pick up the Databases for absolute beginners book – or the dummies book, that will get you started if you are itching to read up. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Depending on the corporation, you could be exposed to many types of databases – Oracle, SQL, php, Access, Filemaker, just to name a few – it’s realtively easy stuff, though – databases at their core are very similar.

  2. Thanks, hon! Yeah, you’re right. They can be run in the mac OS, contrary to what soooomee people think, hehe. But I put Windoze on my computer anyway because my classes will be using the Windows versions and if I want to do the projects at home (instead of at school), then I’ll have to use Windows. And same thing with some of the online classes, unfortunately. I will have to use Windows or else I’d have to drive down to the school each time to use their computers.
    I’ll be forced to do Access in the beginning cuz that’s one of the first classes I have to take. A lot of database people I know actually use Access at their jobs. But at lot of the more advanced people never use it. Most of them tell me they dont’ really like using it, but don’t have a choice as to what their job wants, ya know?
    Anyways, thanks babe. You’re the second person who has mentioned getting the Dummies book so I think I shall go to the library soon and check it out! ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s nice to know other “geeky” females! haha. Most of the ones I know are male. You’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

